Getting my plums out of bed!

I have been feeling sooo tired since I got back from my vacation that I spent most of the weekend and today in bed sleeping.  A number of times, my husband would urge me to get up without success.  

When I finally got out of bed/couch, I decided to bake a plum torte with the kids.  The act of baking woke me up from my slumber and the smell that wafted from the cake gave me energy to stay up and not fall back to sleep, at least until after I ate a slice.  Plums are in season and the grocers are full of Okanagan plums so here’s the recipe:  http://cooking.nytimes.com/recipes/3783-original-plum-torte



It seems like every baking blogger is making Marian Burros’ recipe right now.  I’m so happy I gave it a try.  The only thing different I did was that I added a 1/2 cup of Greek yogurt and a teaspoon of vanilla. 

It was delicious with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. 



Because some of the plums I picked were not quite ripe, the torte had a tartness that gave it an edge.

Enjoy! 

Leave a Reply

